Dykes on bikes , 1996, David Abbott acrylic on paper, 24" x 18"

Tara Burk curated this month's web gallery, Summer Streets, featuring Rob Ordonez, Peter Cramer, George Towne, Carmine Santaniello, Joe De Hoyos, Wyatt Tan, Luna Luis Ortiz, Jon Nalley, Patrick Angus, Bryan Hoffman, Duncan McLaren, Greg Mitchell, David Abbott, Crawford Barton, Luis Carle, John Morrison and Michael Mitchell.

Burk says, "For this web gallery I've selected artworks that showcase the street as a place of desire and possibility. Poring through the incredible works in the Visual AIDS Artist+ Registry, I was moved by images that draw connections between sexual outlaws and urban life, in the spirit of Samuel R. Delany's Times Square Red, Times Square Blue (1999) and Sarah Schulman's Gentrification of the Mind (2012). It is no coincidence that New York and San Francisco are particularly well represented here. These cities have held, historically if not today, public spaces in which to cruise, play, fuck, create, rally, protest, hangout, earn, heal, reinvent or disappear. Rapid gentrification and “moral cleanup” have transformed these cities once known for their legendary perversion into tourism hubs and overpriced housing markets. Our queer histories and cultures have shifted with this transformation in cities, from a post-Sixties culture of bathhouses and red light districts that celebrated public sex to a narrowing of LGBTQ activism, by some, into national campaigns for marriage equality and appeals for sameness ("we are just like you!"). Of course, the arrival of HIV/AIDS in the LGBTQ community played a huge part in the shifting of sexual cultures, public identities, and political platforms." Read more.

Each month, Visual AIDS invites guest curators, drawn from both the arts and AIDS communities, to select several works from the Frank Moore Archive Project and Visual AIDS Artists Registry.

View past Web Gallery here.

Rob Ordonez

Peter Cramer

George Towne

Carmine Santaniello

Joe De Hoyos

Wyatt Tan

Luna Luis Ortiz

Jon Nalley

Patrick Angus

Bryan Hoffman

Duncan McLaren

Greg Mitchell

David Abbott

Crawford Barton

Luis Carle

John Morrison

Michael Mitchell